Questions tagged [actions]

For questions involving the rules that apply to taking a certain action in a specified system.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
0 votes
2 answers
112 views

Does Slow spell allow a move and an action?

Just looking for a clarification on what a target can do in a round when hit with Slow spell. normally we get a 'move' and an 'action' (in addition to bonus etc) my question is about just the two ...
user avatar
11 votes
1 answer
224 views

Can monsters take actions that aren't detailed in their stat blocks? [duplicate]

Me and my players got into an argument as to whether or not an Oni could take the Dodge action. This led me to question whether a monster can take normal actions other than the ones in its stat block. ...
user avatar
  • 685
9 votes
4 answers
2k views

What does it mean that an Ancient Blue Dragon's legendary action 'Wing Attack' costs 2 actions?

What does it mean that an Ancient Blue Dragon's legendary action 'Wing Attack' costs 2 actions? Doesn't a dragon get one action on its turn like everyone else, whether it's a multi-attack, casting a ...
user avatar
6 votes
1 answer
1k views

Are there any beasts eligible for the druid's Wild Shape feature that have Legendary or Lair Actions?

The Druid's Wild Shape class feature states, in part: [...] If the creature has any legendary or lair actions, you can’t use them. I do not recall ever seeing any creatures with Legendary or Lair ...
user avatar
-1 votes
1 answer
160 views

Can a bladesinger use vampiric touch with his multi-attack after the initial casting?

During the initial casting it's a levelled spell so I believe he can't at first, but after the spell takes effect you can use the attack without expending a spell slot does that make it count as a ...
user avatar
10 votes
2 answers
1k views

As a Magus, does Spellstrike take 3 actions?

I'm level 2 right now. My DM says it takes 1 action to melee with Spellstrike, and 2 actions to cast my spell. Which means that's all 3 of my actions... So I can't move to an enemy to use my skill? I'...
user avatar
  • 109
11 votes
1 answer
202 views

What are the “Dynamic Manoeuvres” in Dark Souls?

In the Dark Souls tabletop RPG, one of the uses for spending Position is (p.103): Perform one Dynamic Manoeuvre. These are special actions, enabling you to do extraordinary things, pushing yourself ...
user avatar
  • 26.4k
1 vote
1 answer
104 views

Does the melee attack in Retributive Strike require an action?

The text for Retributive Stike says: You protect your ally and strike your foe. The ally gains resistance to all damage against the triggering damage equal to 2 + your level. If the foe is within ...
user avatar
  • 6,329
-4 votes
3 answers
2k views

Is Stabilizing a Creature 'Broken' due to not stating range?

There is a claim that Stabilizing a Creature is broken mainly due to range not being listed. The main argument is in this youtube video, but the core of the argument is that since Stabilizing a ...
user avatar
  • 3,366
5 votes
1 answer
102 views

Can every character apply untrained skills without limitation?

With 'trained only' skills it is obvious, but I am not sure whether everybody can use all other skills even without being an expert in it. Let us take as an example the 'Palming an object' action ...
user avatar
  • 6,329
9 votes
4 answers
918 views

Which Action is required to throw Alchemist's Fire?

The Alchemist's Fire item description states the following (PHB 148): This sticky, adhesive fluid ignites when exposed to air. As an action, you can throw this flask up to 20 feet, shattering it on ...
user avatar
  • 1,290
-5 votes
5 answers
278 views

If I trigger something on my turn, can I immediately take my Action to react?

Alberich the Absent-minded is moving towards the evil lich Xanax to put a leather bag over its head. Xanax' skeleton minion attacks him in passing with an opportunity attack. Alberich has not used his ...
user avatar
7 votes
3 answers
2k views

If I cast Green-Flame Blade but my attack misses, and I use an extra action from Haste to attack again, does GFB's effect apply if that attack hits?

Let us assume that my wizard has the Haste spell cast on him, granting him an additional action on each turn. He casts Green-Flame Blade as his first action, attacking as part of the spell, but that ...
user avatar
  • 123
2 votes
0 answers
31 views

Is it a free action for a monster to release a grapple? [duplicate]

Here's the scenario that elicited this question. A Roc swoops in and lands a Talon attack, which grapples the target on hit. Roc flies up with remaining movement and then, as a free action, releases ...
user avatar
  • 1,747
12 votes
4 answers
2k views

Can you increase the flying speed gained from the Winged Boots magic item by taking the Dash action?

The description of the winged boots in D&D 5e says: While you wear these boots, you have a flying speed equal to your walking speed. That's simple enough. If Richard the Rogue equips these, he ...
user avatar
  • 1,791

15 30 50 per page
1
2 3 4 5
44